skip navigation

Lightning High School Hockey League Announces Division Realignment

09/26/2017, 5:15pm EDT
By Kyle McKenna

The Lightning High School Hockey League officially announced on Monday that the league has adjusted its’ four Divisions. The LHSHL will no longer feature the upper and lower tier divisional alignment that was utilized last season, and the four divisions have now been rearranged based on team geography.  Additionally, the Divisions have been split into two Conferences, which will act as the Western and Eastern Conference.

The Western Conference will host the Bradley Division and Lecavalier Division, while the Eastern Conference will carry the Andreychuk Division and Modin Division.

The LHSHL Divisions have been rearranged as follows below.

Lecavalier Bradley Andreychuk Modin
Seminole East Lake Jesuit East Manatee
Palm Harbor River Ridge Jenkins Durant
Plant Mitchell Wiregrass Bloomingdale
Berkeley Steinbrenner Freedom Newsome
West Manatee

Additionally, the League has adjusted the LHSHL Playoff format based on the elimination of an upper and lower tier, and the divisional realignment. Now, the top three teams from each of the league’s four Divisions will clinch a playoff berth; and each team that wins its respective Division during the regular season will be granted a first-round bye for the LHSHL Playoffs.  

The teams that finish in second and third place for each Division will meet in the first-round, and then the winner of those matchups will advance to play their respective regular season Division winner in the second-round.  

Once a team has officially won its Division in the playoffs, it will advance to play the opposing Division winner from its respective Conference. From there, four teams will be left, and the winners from each Conference will then meet in the Finals to compete for the Lightning Cup.

The decision to adjust the divisional and playoff structure came after the League’s Board of Directors approved the recommendations, submitted by the nine-person Advisory Committee in its entirety. This new alignment and playoff format will continue for a minimum of three seasons.

(2017-2018; 2018-2019; 2019-2020)

Tag(s): Home  LHSHL  Western Conference  Lecavalier Division  Bradley Division  LHSHL  Western Conference  Lecavalier Division  Palm Harbor  Seminole  Berkeley  Bradley Division  Plant  Mitchell  Steinbrenner  East Lake  River Ridge  Eastern Conference  Andreychuk Division  Freedom  Jesuit  Wiregrass  Manatee  Newsome  Modin Division  Bloomingdale  Jenkins  Durant  West Manatee