skip navigation

Hobey Baker High School Character Award

By Shelby Tavares, 03/02/23, 12:30PM EST


2022-23 Hobey Baker High School Character Award

The Hobey Baker Foundation has given the Lightning High School Hockey League the opportunity to nominate one player from each of our 21 varsity teams to receive the Hobey Baker Character Award. This award allows high school athletes to be honored for displaying great character that aligns with Hobey Baker’s “ideal that ‘character builds excellence.’”

The Lightning High School Hockey League would like to congratulate the following players as they have been chosen by their coaches for the Hobey Baker award and will be honored for demonstrating great character and sportsmanship:

Bloomingdale - Garin Chavarria

Durant - Ethan Cartsens

East Lake - Connor Sheridan

Freedom - Zach Mulligan

George Jenkins - Kaden Schneider

Jesuit - Cameron Grande

Land O' Lakes - Talan Booker 

Manatee - Nicholas Kelly 

Mitchell - Carter Trussler

Newsome Wolverines - Aidan Burns

Newsome Wolves - Eric Nitzschke

Palmetto - Christian Gruwell

Palm Harbor - Connor Hill

Plant - Matthew Wisniewski

River Ridge - Trent Erbland 

Riverview - Tyler Hoffberg

Seminole - William "Billy" Bellin

Steinbrenner - Benjamin Grossman

Tampa 92's - Tyler Orsino

Tampa Catholic - Matthew "Mookie" Killen

Wiregrass - Terence Levasseur


The LHSHL takes pride in the players who dedicate their athletics to demonstrating leadership and good character on top of as developing as a hockey player! With this exciting news, the Hobey Baker award ceremony will be announced during the 2023 Frozen Four ceremony.

Congratulations to all recipients and we look forward to everything you all accomplish moving forward.