skip navigation

LHSHL Catchment Areas

The Lightning High School Hockey League improves its league structure to clarify and streamline player team assignments

Students who attend one of the defined high schools within a team catchment area are eligible to play for that team, and students who attend either a private (not affiliated with a team), charter, public high school without a geographic attendance zone, or are homeschooled, will generally be assigned to the team affiliated with the public school for which they are zoned based on their home address. All other players, including those within team catchment areas that have not formed a team, will be treated as pool players assigned to a team based on need. Any senior who as a result of this change would be assigned to a different team, will have the option to either play for his old team or for the new team.

Below is a summary of the catchment areas for each LHSHL team along with the related schools approved by the LHSHL Board of Directors for the next three seasons including 2020-2021, 2021-2022 and 2022-2023:


Berkeley Prep NA Pure 1 Berkeley Prep
Bloomingdale Hillsborough Combined 1 Bloomingdale
2 East Bay
3 Lennard
4 Sumner
Durant Hillsborough Combined 1 Brandon
2 Durant
3 Plant City
4 Strawberry Crest
East Lake Pinellas Pure 1 East Lake
East Manatee Manatee Combined 1 Lakewood Ranch
2 Palmetto*
3 Parrish
Freedom Hillsborough Combined 1 Freedom
2 Gaither
3 Wharton
George Jenkins Polk Combined 1 George Jenkins
2 Lakeland
3 Lake Gibson
4 Winter Haven
Jesuit NA Pure 1 Jesuit
Land O' Lakes Pasco Pure 1 Land O' Lakes
Mitchell Pasco Combined 1 Mitchell
2 Sunlake
Newsome Hillsborough Pure 1 Newsome
Palm Harbor Pinellas Combined 1 Countryside
2 Dunedin
3 Palm Harbor
4 Tarpon Springs
Plant Hillsborough Combined 1 Hillsborough
2 Plant
River Ridge Pasco Combined 1 Cypress Creek
2 Fivay
3 Pasco
4 River Ridge
Riverview Hillsborough Combined 1 Armwood
2 Riverview (Hillsborough)
3 Robinson
4 Spoto
Sarasota Sarasota Combined 1 Booker
2 Riverview (Sarasota)
3 Sarasota
4 Venice
Seminole Pinellas Combined 1 Boca Ciega
2 Largo
3 Seminole
4 St. Petersburgh
Steinbrenner Hillsborough Combined 1 Alonso
2 Sickles
3 Steinbrenner
West Manatee Manatee Combined 1 Bayshore
2 Braden River
3 Manatee
4 Southeast
Wiregrass Pasco Combined 1 Wesley Chapel
2 Wiregrass


The following schools are not currently assigned to an individual team within the LHSHL. Players attending, or living within the boundary area for the listed public school, are considered to be pool players. 


Pool players will be assigned to teams by the Boundary Committee in accordance with LHSHL rules and regulations.

County Traditional Public School Zone
Hillsborough Armwood
Hillsborough Blake
Hillsborough Chamberlain
Hillsborough Jefferson
Hillsborough King
Hillsborough Leto
Hillsborough Middleton
Pasco Gulf
Pasco Pasco
Pasco Ridgewood
Pinellas Dixie Hollins
Pinellas Gibbs
Pinellas Largo
Pinellas Northeast
Pinellas Osceola
Pinellas Pinellas
Polk Auburndale
Polk Fort Meade
Polk Frostproof
Polk Haines City
Polk Kathleen
Polk Lake Region
Polk Lakeland
Polk Mulberry
Polk Ridge Community
Polk Winter Haven
Sarasota Booker
Sarasota North Port